28 February, 2008

Page International Screenwriting Awards

Now in its fifth year, the PAGE International Screenwriting Awards competition continues its track record of success, discovering and promoting some of the most talented new screenwriters from across the country and around the world. Since receiving their prizes, many PAGE Award winning writers have landed script assignments, secured representation, and signed option agreements on their work, and several now have movies in various stages of production and release.

In the latest news:
The new horror flick THE GRAVE, written by 2007 Silver Prize winner Jack Davidson, is currently in pre-production with producers Paul Carran and Liz DiFiore of Film Factory New Zealand. Stuart Orme (THE PUPPET MASTERS) is attached to direct.

Anne Sagel has just optioned her 2007 Bronze Prize winning thriller THE COLLECTOR to Polaris Productions in Los Angeles. The prodco has also optioned scripts by PAGE finalists Matthew Andrews and Jason Arnopp.

2005 Gold Prize winner Lynn Esta Goldman has just finished writing a new musical drama for a producer in South Africa, and she recently optioned one of her spec scripts to an L.A. film director.

2006 Silver Prize winner Sang Kyu Kim has written several episodes of a network TV show and is now a member of the WGA. Sang was also accepted into the CBS Writers Mentoring Program.

2006 Bronze Prize winners Mike Calvert and Gary Hershberger have been hired to adapt the book 'Only in America' based on a true life adventure. The writing team is repped by Principal Entertainment.

And 2007 Grand Prize winner John Arends has been hired by producer Ernst-August Schnieder and Fortune Films to do a rewrite on a new sci-fi script. John was just signed by the Barry Perelman Agency.

Several other PAGE Award winners have also recently acquired representation:
2007 Gold Prize winner Marc Conklin has been signed by Beloved Management/Beloved Pictures.
2005 Bronze Prize winner Martin McSweeney has been signed by the Blake Friedman Agency in London.

2005 Bronze Prize winner Rob Frisbee is now repped by Brian Spink at Benderspink Management.

And 2007 Gold Prize winner Jimmy Miller is repped by Gayla Nethercott at Don Buchwald & Associates and Josh McGuire at Washington Square Arts.
This year the PAGE judges will present awards to 31 screenwriters in ten different genre categories. The winning writers will receive over $30,000 in cash and prizes, including a $10,000 Grand Prize, as well as extensive publicity and industry exposure for their winning scripts.

The regular entry deadline for the 2008 PAGE Awards competition is Saturday 15 March. Late entries will be accepted through 15 April. For more information, please visit: http://www.InternationalScreenwritingAwards.com

No comments: