24 February, 2008

Independent Spirit Awards Winners


Best Screenplay

Tamara Jenkins - "The Savages"

Best Feature:

"Juno" - Producers: Lianne Halfon, John Malkovich, Mason Novick, Russell Smith

Best Director:

Julian Schnabel - "The Diving Bell and the Butterfly"

Best Female Lead:

Ellen Page - "Juno"

Best Supporting Male:

Chiwetel Ejiofor - "Talk To Me"

Best First Screenplay:

Diablo Cody - "Juno"

Best First Feature:

"The Lookout" - Director: Scott Frank; Producers: Roger Birnbaum, Gary Barber, Laurence Mark, Walter Parkes

Best Supporting Female:

Cate Blanchett - "I’m Not There"

John Cassavetes Award:

(Given to the best feature made for under $500,000) "August Evening" - Writer/Director: Chris Eska; Producers: Connie Hill, Jason Wehling

Best Foreign Film:

"Once" (Ireland) - John Carney

Male Lead:

Philip Seymour Hoffman - "The Savages"

IFC/ACURA Someone to Watch Award

Ramin Bahrani, director of "Chop Shop"

Producers Award

Neil Kopp, producer of "Paranoid Park" and "Old Joy"

Truer than Fiction Award

Laura Dunn for "The Unforeseen"

Best Documentary

"Crazy Love" - Director: Dan Klores

Best Cinematography

Janusz Kaminski - "The Diving Bell and the Butterfly"

Robert Altman Award

"I’m Not There"

Director: Todd Haynes; Casting Director: Laura Rosenthal; Ensemble Cast: Christian Bale, Cate Blanchett, Marcus Carl Franklin, Charlotte Gainsbourg, Bruce Greenwood, Richard Gere, Heath Ledger, Ben Whishaw

No comments: